Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (5)

Get the Gringo review

Posted : 5 years, 1 month ago on 4 July 2012 12:39 (A review of Get the Gringo)

Mel Gibson is at his best when someone is kicking the shit out of him. Payback, Lethal Weapon and conspiracy theory are damn fine examples of Mel's ability to take a kicking and still come out looking cool. So I was more than glad to see him back at his best in 'Get the Gringo'.
Being typecast is not always a bad thing, for some actors it can be a blessing; I want to see Bruce Willis killing a ton of guys before delivering a witty repartee, I want to see Steven Seagal avenging the death of his murdered wife, I even want to see Hugh Grant in a last minute dash to bag the girl, and I want to see Mel Gibson chasing down a big bag of cash stolen from him, shooting every bad guy who gets in his way. If you agree with me, then 'Get the Gringo' is definitely for you.
Mel's private life has been taking a bashing recently and a lot of people had assumed he was finished, this film will change their minds. Sure it's nowhere near as good as the aforementioned movies, but it is a solid action movie with a decent script and filmed in the most bizarre prison I've ever seen. If you like classic Mel Gibson, you will like this film.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Invention of Lying review

Posted : 5 years, 1 month ago on 2 July 2012 10:11 (A review of The Invention of Lying)

In honor of 'The Invention of Lying', I will write this review in the style of the movie:
I was excited to watch this film as I hadn't seen it before. I like Ricky Gervais although I believe he is a pompous arsehole who has an over inflated sense of self worth. That said he is very funny. The film kicked off and I found the premise that no one could lie inviting and intriguing; although i'm sure those are synonyms. After 5 minutes of the cast's refreshing honesty I found it tedious and tiresome; again another synonym which I fear is revealing my inexperience in technical writing. The film trundled along at a reasonable pace until the invention of lying. This twist then gave a refreshing outlook on the film which made me enjoy it more. However Ricky Gervais is undoubtedly 1 dimensional which is ok if you enjoy his brand of humor, which I do, but at 100 minutes long I found myself getting bored once again. I laughed out loud twice. I realised way too late that I have actually seen this film before but was too lazy to get up from the seat I had been sitting in for 10 hours straight to turn it over. It wasn't a total waste of time, i suppose I enjoyed it, but it was hardly the greatest film ever made. I am sometimes confused about my sexuality.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Sunshine review

Posted : 5 years, 1 month ago on 2 July 2012 07:58 (A review of Sunshine)

I'm in two minds as to whether I enjoyed 'Sunshine'. The first hour of this movie was brilliant; it was intriguing, suspenseful and it had me hooked. The cast was good, lot's of familiar faces with no overbearing dominant lead. However the second half of the film, once the 'twist' had been revealed, I found anticlimactic. I'm sure there will be those who disagree, those that will claim 'the twist' was a stroke of genius. They are probably the same people who were gobsmacked to learn that 'Harry the Hypnotist' was the 'Ghost Clown' in Scooby Doo.
That said I feel i am being a little harsh on the film, I did enjoy it, mostly because i forgot to read the synopsis and kept expecting a horde of aliens to pick them off one by one. It was a solid film, soothing soundtrack, great visuals, if a little samey - Hey they're in space, that'll happen. A decent watch. Sci-Fi fans rejoice.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Get Him to the Greek review

Posted : 5 years, 1 month ago on 2 July 2012 05:01 (A review of Get Him to the Greek)

This film is sorely under-rated both here and IMDB. It is hard for comedy films to connect with a wide audience especially when there is a lot of swearing, sex and drug references as this can alienate a large portion of the audience. Fortunately I love swearing, sex and Drugs, however not specifically in that order.
This film is based on Brand's character from 'Forgetting Sarah Marshall' which is also a great film, but 'GHTTG' has a darker feel, a kind of 'gross-out' comedy without all the 'gross-out', and instead genuinely smart and funny dialogue. Jonah Hill is great as usual and Russell Brand delivers another brilliant performance; however I doubt the role was too much of a stretch for him. The film also has many cameos from some very surprising names as well as an excellent performance by Sean Combs, or P-diddy as he is known to his friends.
This film might not be for everyone, I guess you either love it or you don't, it's all down to your sense of humor. Personally i loved it. This film has some of the funniest scenes I have ever seen, the last movie I saw that really tickled my funny bone in the same way was, 'Deuce Bigalow - European Gigolo', I guess that more about me.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gamer review

Posted : 5 years, 1 month ago on 2 July 2012 04:36 (A review of Gamer)

I like Gerard Butler. I like Michael C. Hall. I like John Leguizamo. I do not like this film.
Gamer is not an original film, it throws together some good ideas from some really good films - The running man, Battle royale and Tron to name a few - but poor story telling, bog standard acting and silly visuals means this offering falls flat on it's face. Don't get me wrong, if you like to see blood, guts,'epic frags' and faces smashed to a pulp then you are gonna jizz all over this, but if you like your mindless violence with a bit of substance you will probably have a lazy lob-on throughout.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block